Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Google Arts & Culture
Google Arts & Culture
An online platform through which the public can view high-resolution images and videos of artworks and cultural artifacts from partner cultural organizations throughout the world.
Below are some good starting points for locating information about French and Francophone history and culture online.
Digital library from the Bibliothèque nationale de France (BnF). Essential site for French digital images and documents.
Creating French Culture
Cultural history of France, illuminated by 200 treasures from the Bibliothèque Nationale de France.
The official website of the Cultural Services of the French Embassy in the U.S. Offers information about French books, film, music, visual and performing arts, and more!
Histoire des arts
Created for the academic community and art-lovers alike, Histoire des arts provides access to online resources for a variety of artistic and cultural domains, including architecture, dance, and music.
EuroDocs: History of France
Annotated bibliography of primary source documents on the Web.
Direct access to several million digital objects: film, photos, paintings, sound recordings, maps, manuscripts, books, newspapers and archival papers. Selected from already digitized resources available in Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections. French and German cultural institutions are particularly well-represented.
Documentaries & Educational Films
Academic Video Online is a streaming video service, which provides access to a broad spectrum of educational and documentary content, spanning subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Visites privées sur YouTube
In this series, Stéphane Bern and his commentators take a behind-the-scenes look at France's heritage. Choose from hundreds of videos on a variety of topics, each approximately 15 minutes long.
Offers a database of 450,000 films and series, with click through access to over 150 streaming services. Users can browse all films with the button in the header, and filter by streaming service, country, language, genre, and more or enter a search term in the search window. Find a film you want to watch? Just click through to the streaming service of your choice.
Films on Demand - Archival Films & Newsreels Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of archival films and newsreels spanning the 1880s to the 21st century.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Films streamed on Kanopy are provided to the Puget Sound community for classroom and educational purposes only. Films that have been licensed for use by the University of Puget Sound are immediately available on the Kanopy platform. If a film has not been licensed for use, you may submit a Kanopy request form and the library will consider the request.