Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Creating Effective Search Statements
When conducting research in a database it's important to be thoughtful of the specific search terms you are using, and how they might impact your results.
Consider alternative terms or synonyms that describe your key concepts, and that could possibly improve or change your search results.
Synonyms or Alternative Ways of Phrasing
|| Country Name OR Continent OR Region
|| Salary OR Income OR Employment
Adapted from Teaching Information Literacy by J. Burkhardt & M. MacDonald.
Structure a search statement that you can use while doing research in a database. Use Boolean Operators (AND, OR, NOT), and utilize some of the advanced search functions available to you.
Here are some other databases that may help you with your research.
Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains essential publications for information about the financial services industry, including accounting, tax, banking, and industry trends.
Asian & European Business Collection This link opens in a new window
Information pertinent to the study of business and finance topics across Asia and Europe. Find information on companies, economies, markets, international trade, and overall business conditions and practices.
Economics and Theory: OneFile This link opens in a new window
Discover content useful for starting a business, marketing a product, developing policy, analyzing trends, and more.
Entrepreneurship: Business This link opens in a new window
Learn how to start, finance, or manage your small business. Includes sample business plans, how to guides, articles, and more.
Entrepreneurship: OneFile This link opens in a new window
Analyze business insights, tips, strategies, and success stories. Updated daily.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of human impact to the environment including global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Legal Collection This link opens in a new window
Law journals, case studies, and legal documents in federal & international law, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, and environmental law.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Full text of major world publications. Includes in-depth company information, country profiles, and resources for legal research.
Social Science Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to multiple databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Major source for business & finance research. Includes news, magazines, and scholarly articles as well as country, company, and industry profiles.
Business: OneFile This link opens in a new window
Understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through leading business and trade publications. Updated daily.
Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new window
Compare global economies, countries, and industries with in-depth analysis on over 400,000 companies.
Leadership and Management: OneFile This link opens in a new window
Search authoritative periodical content covering topics like organizational dynamics, adult learning, and more. Updated daily.
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes ABI/INFORM Global, Trade and Industry, Dateline, and Archive. Includes key business and economics periodicals, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data.
Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Conduct company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research with information from these sources: Hoover's Company Profiles - information about global public and non-public companies including location, financials, competitors, officers, and more; OxResearch - articles covering regional economic and political developments; Snapshots - market research overviews on industries and countries.
EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index, including partial full-text, of journal articles, books, book reviews, working papers and dissertations in Economics and related fields.
Business News Sources
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
In-depth news coverage of national and international finance and news.
International daily newspaper with a special emphasis on business and economic news. One month embargo of recent issues. Recent print copies are available at the circulation desk.
New York Times (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full text of The New York Times, with national and international news.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Find global information on topics related to business and economics, the environment, global issues, health, international studies, literature, performing and fine arts, politics and government, science, social issues, technology and more from a variety of news media featuring newspapers, videos and web-only content.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of state, national and international newspapers, including the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Financial Times, Tacoma News Tribune and many more.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Provides cover-to-cover full text for over 70 national and international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), The Toronto Star and others. Also contains selective full text for 376 regional U.S. newspapers, including the Seattle Times.
Regional Business News Plus This link opens in a new window
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Incorporates coverage of journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
E-books in Collins Library are fully integrated into Primo Search!
Consult the e-books guide to find out more about finding and using our growing e-book collection.
This guide highlights only a small portion of the many resources available to you. If you're not finding what you need, don't hesitate to contact Andrea!
Social Sciences Liaison Librarian
tel: (253) 879-2875
office: Collins Library 141
Request an Appointment with Andrea