Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ARTstor is a large collection of digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences from museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates. Click on the ARTstor logo to begin your search.
- Edvard Munch
- Harriet Backer
- Vilhelm Hammershøi
- William Hogarth
Name of Play:
- Hedda Gabler
- She Stoops to Conquer
There are two main methods of finding images in ARTstor: searching or browsing.
Browsing by Geography
On the front page of the Digital Library, go to Browse area in the lower left corner and click Geography.
Go to the ARTstor navigation menu and click Find > Browse ARTstor by > Geography.
- The Browse page will open, displaying a list of country names. The number in parenthesis next to each country name indicates the number of images with that country term applied to the data record.
- You may browse by classification within a country:
- To expand a country name, click the plus sign (+). A list of classification sub-categories will be displayed.
- To collapse an expanded country, click the minus sign (-).
- To view the images associated with a country or classification within it, double-click on the country name or the classification.
Use the keyword search to run a basic search for images. If you retrieve too many images, you can refine your search.
- Enter another search term and from the drop-down options choose Within this search result. Click Go.
- Or you can filter by selecting classifications, geographic locations, or dates, when applicable.
The advanced search option allows you to narrow your results by:
- words and phrases
ARTstor Search Tips
Use quotes for phrases, ex. "living room"
Search the name of an artist, Hammershoi
Do an advanced search and limit by geography and classification (decorative objects or paintings or photographs). Leave the keyword search box blank or use the word interior.
Capturing ARTstor Images
There are several ways to capture an image.
To download an Artstor Image:
- Log in to your Artstor account. (You must be logged in with a registered Artstor account to download content).
- Search for items or open a collection or group.
- Click an item thumbnail to launch the Detail page.
- Click the Download button then click to Accept our Terms and Conditions of Use. If you have opened an audio file or a video file with an image as the thumbnail, only the jpg image/placeholder will download.
- Your file will download into whichever folder you have designated for downloads from your web browser.
To copy or save a thumbnail of an Artstor Image:
- Thumbnail images display when you perform a search.
- Right click on the image to copy or save the thumbnail.
To copy or save an Artstor Image:
- Click an item thumbnail to launch the Detail page.
- Use the Snipping Tool in Microsoft Office. See the box on the right for detailed directions.
You can save groups of images in ARTstor related to a particular project and then export them in Powerpoint, as a zip file, or as a link to be shared within the insitution. The following is a group related to Blood Wedding: Blood Wedding image group.
Image Search Engines & Collections
Begin your search with one of the major search engines, like Google.
See also Google's Art & Culture site for images from cultural institutions.
In addition to searching the open web, try these licensed databases to find images.
Art Online (Oxford) This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of Western and non-Western visual art. Includes the full text of 'The Dictionary of Art,' and gives users access to subject entries, biographies, bibliographic citations, image links and images contained within Grove Art Online, as well as entries and images from the 'Oxford Companion to Western Art,' the 'Concise Dictionary of Art Terms,' and 'Oxford’s Encyclopedia of Aesthetics.' Thematic timelines and learning resources are also included.
Access limited to 3 simultaneous users.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database containing full text journal, magazine & newspaper articles, many from peer-reviewed titles. This scholarly collection covers information in nearly every area of academic study.
Research Library (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Features the full text of a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines and newspapers covering all academic subject areas.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary journal archive. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
You can use the Snipping Tool in Microsoft Office to capture a screen shot, or snip, of any object on your screen, and then annotate, save, or share the image.
To capture a snip
- Open Snipping Tool by clicking the Start button, clicking All Programs, clicking Accessories, and then clicking Snipping Tool.
- Click the arrow next to the New button, select a snip type from the menu, and then use your mouse to capture a snip.
To save a snip
- Click the Save Snip button.
- In the Save As dialog box, enter a name for the snip, choose a location to save the snip in, and then click Save.