Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music 105: Music in the United States: Books & More

This web guide is a starting point for a research paper assignment in Music 105.

Primo Search

Primo is a good starting point for finding print books, ebooks, selected articles, and other sources available through Collins Library and 39 Summit libraries.

Search Primo from the library's homepage or go directly to advanced search.

What are scopes?

Scopes are different collections to search.  Change scopes by using the drop down menu next to the search box. The default scope is 'Collins, Summit, and Articles.' It includes items owned, subscribed to, or accessible by Collins Library, and items owned by the 39 academic libraries in the Orbis Cascade Alliance. Selected articles subscribed to by Collins Library are available. Search individual databases for more comprehensive results.

Other scope options are:

Collins and Summit

  • Items owned, subscribed to, or accessible by Collins Library.
  • Collections of 39 academic libraries in the Orbis Cascade Alliance.

Collins

  • Only owned, subscribed to, or accessible by Collins Library.
  • Includes ebooks, print books, cds, scores, DVDs, course reserves, government doucuments and more.
  • Journal titles and article titles are searchable.

Primo Search Tips

  • Use quotes to search for "exact titles".
  • Use the filters on the right side to quickly narrow and navigate through search results.
  • Use AND (in upper case) to combine different words in a search.
  • Use Advanced Search to perform more granular searches.
  • Look at item details to find relevant subject headings.
  • Sign in with your Puget Sound username and password to gain access to online sources, borrow items from other libraries, and more.

Finding Articles & Journals in Primo

Primo provides access to articles from selected databases (ProQuest, Jstor, Project Muse, etc.).

To search for journal articles, do an advanced search. Use the search scope that includes articles. ype keywords and change material type to articles. See example below.

To search a journal title, do an advanced search. Change the drop down menu to title. If you know the exact title, choose exact in the drop down menu.Change material type to journals. See example below.

ILLiad: Interlibrary Loan

If your article is not available at Collins Library, you've got another option to getting it. Use Tipasa, our interlibrary loan service.

You'll need to set up an account the first time you use it and log in subsequently.

Once you have an account, either go directly to Tipasa and manually enter the information, or, if you're using a database, look for a shortcut link to automatically fill out the form, like this:

Interlibrary Loan Link

Allow at least a week for the article to come. If your  article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with a link to follow as soon as it's arrived. If it's delivered in paper, you'll receive it right in your campus mailbox.

Reading a Call Number

Collins Library uses the Library of Congress classification scheme to organize books on the shelve. Follow these tips to find the book you need.

Example:

Start with the top line. It is in alphabetical order. Ex. ML

The second line is a whole number.  Ex. 3477

The third line is  a combination of a letter and numbers. Read the letter alphabetically. Read the number as a decimal, eg. Y.23, Y.34, Y.344, Y.4, etc.

Some call numbers have more than one combination letter-number line.

The last line is the year the book was published. Read in chronological order. Ex. 2001, 2005, 2010, 2015, etc.

 

 

eBooks

eBooks in Collins Library are fully integrated into Primo Search! 

On the right side of your search results, use the filter for resource type and click on  ebooks.

Examples of eBooks in the library collection appear below.