Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You'll need to use a variety of search terms within databases, depending on your focus and topic. Some examples are listed below, but you also may wish to consult the Bioethics Thesaurus currently maintained by The Bioethics Research Library at Georgetown University.
Advance care planning
Code of ethics
Due to the interdisciplinary nature of bioethics, you'll likely need to search multiple subject databases.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Coverage encompasses those areas of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering needed by health professionals and others engaged in basic research and clinical care, public health, health policy development, including ethics
Philosophers Index This link opens in a new window
Covers scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. It contains research published since 1940 including journals from many countries with content representing a variety of languages.
Political Science Database This link opens in a new window
Gives users access to leading political science and international relations journals, providing full-text of many core titles indexed in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. In addition, it includes recent full-text doctoral dissertations on political science topics, together with working papers, conference proceedings, country profiles, political news and other sources.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window
Combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
History of Science, Technology and Medicine (HSTM) This link opens in a new window
An international bibliography for the history of science, technology, and medicine and their influence on culture, from pre-history to the present. Includes records of journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other materials.
Key Bioethics Journals
The links below will take you to the Primo catalog page for each journal. Click on the "View it" tab to connect to online access tools or to find the location in Collins Library. This is NOT a comprehensive list, but rather, a selection of the most well-known scholarly journals devoted to bioethical themes.