Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Types of Databases
Online databases are invaluable resources for researchers. They make discovering and locating relevant scholarly material extremely efficient. At the same time, it is important to understand that there are different kinds of databases, and scholars need to be able to distinguish between these different types and to select the appropriate databases for their research needs. Here are some brief overviews of different types of databases.
Subject databases cover a specific discipline or sub-discipline or a specific interdisciplinary area. For example, America: History and Life indexes scholarly materials covering all aspects of United States and Canadian history, from prehistoric times to the present. Subject databases will help you access the most in-depth range of materials and typically should be your first choice.
Interdisciplinary databases, cover a wide range of disciplines, and often index resources from scholarly and popular sources. Academic Search Premier and ProQuest Central are examples of interdisciplinary databases. While convenient, these databases can provide an overwhelming number of results, and you'll need to be mindful of the lens or disciplines that information you find is coming from.
ILL: Interlibrary Loan
If your article is not immediately available at Collins Library, you've got an option for getting a hold of it. Just place a request for it through our interlibrary loan service.
Login to Interlibrary loan using your Puget Sound credentials.
To make a request you can either go directly to ILL and manually enter the bibliographic information for the article in the request form, or, if you're using a database, look for the ILL option in the database record and place the request using that link which will automatically fill out the request form.
Allow at least a week for the article to come in, although often it will arrive more quickly than that. If your article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with a link to follow as soon as it has arrived.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, books, essays in books, and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Major source for business & finance research. Includes news, magazines, and scholarly articles as well as country, company, and industry profiles.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text, and indexing and abstracts, for many journal titles with a worldwide focus reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse. The database also features full-text reference books and monographs, and full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Several thousand links to freely available and indexed full-text articles and documents on the Internet are available. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources.
Interdisciplinary databases like the Social Science Premium Collection and Academic Search Premier index a wide variety of popular and scholarly resources.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database containing full text journal, magazine & newspaper articles, many from peer-reviewed titles. This scholarly collection covers information in nearly every area of academic study.
Social Science Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to multiple databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.