Collins Memorial Library: PG 420: Senior Research Seminar in Comparative Politics: Articles

Country Information

Europa World This link opens in a new window
The online version of the Europa World Year Book and the Europa Regional Surveys of the World series. The Yearbook covers political and economic information for more than 250 countries and territories, while the Surveys provide in-depth, expert analysis at the regional, sub-regional and country level.
U.S. State Department Country Information This link opens in a new window
Contains country information including people, history, government, political conditions, economy, foreign relations, U.S. relations, travel and business.
World FactBook This link opens in a new window
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.

E-Journal Collections

These e-journal collections provide access to many journals in the political science field, but they are limited in scope and coverage compared to subject databases. In most cases, it's better to search subject databases to identify articles, and then use Primo Search to access the materials in these e-journal collections.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an online archive of select scholarly journals. Because it is an archive, current content from journals is not included. The "embargo" on current content ranges from one to ten years, depending on the journal.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project Muse provides full-text access to journals in the humanities and social sciences. Coverage of journals typically begins in the late 1990s or later.

Search Political Science Complete

Provides full text, and indexing and abstracts, for journals that cover political science, international relations, and law. Also includes full text of reference books and conference papers.

Recommended Databases for Politics & Governement

CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
A source for theory and research in international affairs. Covers a wide range of scholarship that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources including: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, patents, legal opinions and federal & state court opinions.
Legal Collection This link opens in a new window
Centered on the discipline of law and legal topics, including criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics and environmental law.
Political Science Database This link opens in a new window
Gives users access to leading political science and international relations journals, providing full-text of many core titles indexed in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. In addition, it includes recent full-text doctoral dissertations on political science topics, together with working papers, conference proceedings, country profiles, political news and other sources.
Social Science Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to multiple databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration / policy.

Selected Journals

Need help?

This guide highlights only a small portion of the many resources available to you. If you're not finding what you need, don't hesitate to contact Andrea!

Andrea Klyn
Social Sciences Liaison Librarian
email: aklyn@pugetsound.edu
tel: (253) 879-2875
office: Collins Library 141

Request an Appointment with Andrea