Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Note: The music available via these streaming audio services cannot be used in your podcast. They are for listening/study purposes only. No download is permitted and you are not permitted to publish, broadcast, communicate, or redistribute materials from the services.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of classical music available online. It includes over 630,000 tracks, including classical, jazz, world and folk music. Select works by composer, artist, period, year of composition, instrument or genre. Playlists can also be created. Information about selected works, artists and composers is also included.
Use the "genre" tab to find recordings of world and Chinese music. Note: There is a limit of 15 simultaneous users.
Naxos Music Library Jazz This link opens in a new window
A collection of jazz available streaming online. Select works by label, artist, composer or genre. Playlists can also be created. Includes information about the works, artists and composers.
Access limited to 3 simultaneous users.
Music & Performing Arts This link opens in a new window
Contains the following Alexander Street Press streaming music collections: American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music Library, Popular Music Library, Smithsonian Global Sound and Theatre in Video
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music This link opens in a new window
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is the first comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. More than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world, make this the most complete body of work focused on world music. The Encyclopedia includes 1,217 essays, images from 10 sources, and hundreds of audio examples.
The library has a cd music collection located on the second floor between the two halves of the library, across from Special Collections & University Archives.
- Do a keyword search on your topic in Primo Search. You can search by performer, genre, or country.
- Refine your results by 'Resource Type' (on the right sidebar).
- Choose audio. If you don't see it on the list, click on 'Audio CDs.'