Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Museums and Galleries
Museums and Galleries in the Tacoma/Seattle area
- Seattle Art Museum - Click on the "art" tab for information about past and current exhibitions as well as the permanent collection.
Note: The Seattle Art Museum, the Seattle Asian Art Museum, and Olympic Sculpture Park are closed for two weeks, January 31–February 15, 2011.
- Frye Art Museum focuses on late-nineteenth and early-twentieth-century European paintings
- Public Art in Seattle
- Art Guide Northwest - museums, galleries, events in Seattle and western Washington
- Henry Art Gallery
Tip: As part of Tacoma’s monthly ArtWalk, Tacoma museums offer extended hours and provide free admission for all visitors from 5 pm to 8 pm.
In Seattle, the free day varies with the museum.
Search for Books
Use Primo to find resources on your topic at Collins Library and beyond.
Request books held by Summit libraries for delivery to Collins Library within 3-5 days.
Use the Primo to find only materials held at this library.
Search for works of art in these databases. Use quote marks around the title if more than one word. Also include the artist's name.
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers articles found in art related journals and magazines from 1984 to the present
Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Covers art literature for the years 1929 to 1984. C
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A high-quality, interdisciplinary journal archive. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This scholarly collection covers information in nearly every area of academic study.
Research Library (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Features the full text of a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines and newspapers covering all academic subject areas.