Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Subject Database Search Tips
Below is a selective list of databases that discuss race from different disciplinary perspectives.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Use DE "Race (Anthropological)" and add the word definition in the second search box.
Philosophers Index This link opens in a new window
Search race as a subject.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Search race as a subject and limit to scholarly journals.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Search race as a subject term and add the word definition in the second search box.
Biological Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Use race as a subject heading. In the second search box, use human genetics in Classifications. Limit by scholarly journals.
Legal Collection This link opens in a new window
Search race as a subject term. In the second search box, use defin*
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Search race as a subject term. In the second search box, use definition.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary journal archive. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Search Research Library (ProQuest)
Research Library (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Features the full text of a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines and newspapers covering all academic subject areas.
If your article is not available at Collins Library, you've got another option to getting it. Use Tipasa, our interlibrary loan service.
Once you have an account, either go directly to Tipasa and manually enter the information, or, if you're using a database, look for a shortcut link to automatically fill out the form.
Allow at least a week for the article to come. If your article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with a link to follow as soon as it's arrived. If it's delivered in paper, you'll receive it right in your campus mailbox.
Number 1 Search Tip
Use Advanced Search and limit features whenever possible. Subset limits, date limits, citation searches, subject searches, etc. -- are all useful timesavers.
More Search Tips:
- Start with a general search.
- Avoid long phrases.
- When given a choice, go with advanced search.
- Use AND to find all the words on your topic.
- Use OR to find any of the words on your topic.
- The symbol * is used as a right hand truncation character in most databases; it will find all forms of a word.
- Use limiters to focus your search by date, full text, peer reviewed articles, etc.
- Be flexible in your searching.
Too MUCH Information?
- Use more specific words.
- Narrow your search by adding more words connecting them with AND.
- Do a subject search instead of a keyword search.
- Put phrases in quotation marks.
Too LITTLE Information?
- Try different search words, including synonyms, broader terms, or related words.
- Use the truncation symbol * to get all forms of a word.
- Try a different database.