Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
If your research question has been approached from other disciplinary frameworks, you may wish to familiarize yourself with that scholarly literature, with the aim of showing how a historian's approach can add to our understanding of the issues. Use the Research by Subject pages to explore more options.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarship in sociology.
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Database for scholarship on all aspects of art history.
History of Science, Technology and Medicine (HSTM) This link opens in a new window
An international bibliography for the history of science, technology, and medicine and their influence on culture, from pre-history to the present. Includes records of journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other materials.
There are several databases from which to choose when you are seeking scholarly work. Most databases for historians focus on a particular geographical and/or chronological period. Always make sure that you've selected the most appropriate database to search!
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of world history from 1450 to the present. Does not include United States and Canadian history, which is covered in America: History and Life.
Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index of Western-language scholarship on Asia in the humanities and social sciences.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Medieval and early modern history (roughly 300-1700)
These e-journal collections provide access to many journals in the field of History, but they are more limited in coverage compared to subject databases. In most cases, it's better to search subject databases to identify articles. However, if you are seeking interdisciplinary perspectives, these collections can be good options.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an online archive of select scholarly journals. Because it is an archive, current content from journals is not included. The "embargo" on current content ranges from one to ten years, depending on the journal.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project Muse provides full-text access to journals in the humanities and social sciences. Coverage of journals typically begins in the late 1990s or later.
By consulting book reviews of the scholarly works you are reading, you can gain a better understanding of the place of a particular work within the field. Here are a few tips for locating book reviews:
- Select the "advanced search" option.
- Type (in quotation marks) the title of the book for which you seek reviews.
- Under the limiter options, select "review" in the "Type" category.