The Archives & Special Collections collects, preserves, and makes available materials of lasting historical value that support research, teaching, and administrative activities at the University of Puget Sound. Our collections document the history of the university since its founding in 1888 and include administrative records, student publications, photographs, and ephemera relating to campus life, among other items. The A&SC is also home to manuscript collections, rare books, and artists books in subject areas that support the current teaching interests at Puget Sound, including but not limited to the people, history, economy, and politics of the Pacific Northwest region and materials that highlight the experiences of marginalized and underrepresented peoples.
This guide is intended to serve as a starting point for researchers interested in using materials housed in the Archives & Special Collections at the University of Puget Sound. This guide focuses on the collections available at Puget Sound. A brief listing of primary sources at local institutions is listed on Other Archives and Special Collections.
Learn more about what's going on in Collins Library!
The Albert W. Bash Papers contain correspondence, maps, photographs, and newspaper clippings documenting Bash's involvement in the development of a scheme to extend U.S. railway lines across the Pacific Ocean and on through mainland China between 1895 and 1912. Bash was associated with the American China Development Company and the China Investment and Construction Company.
The Abby Williams Hill Papers include diaries, letters, photographs, and papers documenting the life and work of a female painter and social activist in the early 20th century. was a landscape painter who worked primarily in the American West. Hill is best known for her commissioned works for the Great Northern and Northern Pacific railroads, which were exhibited at the St. Louis World's Fair in 1904 and the Lewis & Clark Exposition in Portland in 1905.
The University of Puget Sound Ephemera include invitations, public announcements, programs, and advertising material for the University of Puget Sound.
We welcome your inquiries!
Please send questions, comments, and queries to archives@pugetsound.edu.
Stay tuned to Collins Unbound blog for Thursday updates from the Archives & Special Collections or visit our Tumblr!