Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Scientific Perspectives
AGRICOLA contains bibliographic records from the U.S. National Agricultural Library. This database contains more than 4.1 million citations. The citations are comprised of journal articles, book chapters, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture. AGRICOLA encompasses all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines.
This database provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from journal articles, monographs, technical reports, theses, letters, meeting abstracts, papers and reports. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, information in the database is drawn from a number of discrete files including Toxicity Bibliography and Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology. It covers all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens.
GeoRef provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. Contains references to over 25,000 sources, including journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses. This database provides abstracts and then links out to the full text.
Finding Social & Policy Perspective
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database containing full text for more than 4,600 journals, including nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. This scholarly collection covers information in nearly every area of academic study.
Explores a single issue in the news in depth each week. Numerous charts, graphs and sidebar articles -- plus a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts - are included
ERIC (Education Resource Information Center)
This education database allows you to search for articles about all things related to education, from pedagogy to policy.
Key Database: GreenFile
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Multidisciplinary by nature, GreenFILE draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. The database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 538,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 5,800 records.
Key Scientific Database: Biological Sciences
Contains abstracts and citations from over 8000 serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents within the biological sciences.
Key Policy Database: PAIS International
Subjects covered include global public policy and social issues including culture and religion, human rights, labor policy, media, politics, transportation and more.through periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, Internet resources, and other publications from 120 countries.
Environmental Policy Research in Google Scholar
Google Scholar can be a powerful search tool, but it can be inconsistent in its coverage, so it is best if used for supplemental research. See below for best practices for using Google Scholar.
Google Scholar Cited Reference Search
Another useful feature of Google Scholar is its ability to allow for easily finding articles which have cited an article that you have found.
Step 1: When looking at search results, check for the 'Cited by X' link underneath each result. That will tell you how many subsequent articles (that Google Scholar is aware of...it's not 100% comprehensive! This is a ballpark figure) have cited this particular article.
- Step 2: Click that link, and you will be taken to a new set of results, all of which have cited the original article, which will still be listed at the top of the page.
What's a secondary source?
In secondary sources, authors analyze and interpret primary source materials.
Secondary sources can be scholarly or popular. Scholarly sources (sometimes called "academic" or "peer-reviewed" sources) are written by and for experts and typically include bibliographies and citations. Popular sources are written for a general, non-expert audience and can be authored by anyone.