Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Additional Recommended E-Journals
Searching the Computer Science Literature
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Contains bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and the full-text for articles published in ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) periodicals and proceedings since its founding in 1947 plus selected works published by affiliated organizations. Also provides a bibliographic database, consisting of more than a quarter-million citations of core works in computing including journals, proceedings, books, technical reports, and theses.
Computer Source This link opens in a new window
Provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology. Subjects include computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software. This database offers full text for more than 300 publications and indexing and abstracting for over 450 publications.
Computing Research Repository
The Computing Research Repository (CoRR) allows researchers to freely search, browse and download papers through its open access online repository.
Computer Science Research in Google Scholar
Google Scholar can be a powerful search tool, but it can be inconsistent in its coverage, so it is best if used for supplemental research. See below for best practices for using Google Scholar.
Google Scholar Library Links
There are two features to be aware of when using Google Scholar. The first is to be sure to set up your preferences in Google Scholar to access articles online that are available at Collins Library!
- Step 1 On the Google Scholar page, click on the small 'Settings' icon at the top of the screen.
- Step 2: Choose 'library links' from the options on the left hand side, then type 'Puget Sound' into the search box.
- Step 3: When the results appear, click the check boxes next to the three options that include 'Univ of Puget Sound' or 'University of Puget Sound' in the title.
- Step 4: Conduct a search, and look for the links that say 'Full Text @ My Library' on the right hand side next to results. Click those links to check for Puget Sound access to the articles!
Google Scholar Cited Reference Search
Another useful feature of Google Scholar is its ability to allow for easily finding articles which have cited an article that you have found.
Step 1: When looking at search results, check for the 'Cited by X' link underneath each result. That will tell you how many subsequent articles (that Google Scholar is aware of...it's not 100% comprehensive! This is a ballpark figure) have cited this particular article.
- Step 2: Click that link, and you will be taken to a new set of results, all of which have cited the original article, which will still be listed at the top of the page.
What's a secondary source?
In secondary sources, authors analyze and interpret primary source materials.
Secondary sources can be scholarly or popular. Scholarly sources (sometimes called "academic" or "peer-reviewed" sources) are written by and for experts and typically include bibliographies and citations. Popular sources are written for a general, non-expert audience and can be authored by anyone.