Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Encyclopedia of World Cultures by
Call Number: REF GN307 .E53
Publication Date: 1996
A source for historical, social, political, economic, linguistic, religious, and other information on virtually every existing culture.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life by
Call Number: GN333 .W67 1998
Publication Date: 1998
Examines cultural groups in Asia, Europe, the Americas and Africa. Provides information on history, politics, customs, religion, education, and human rights issues.
Country Analysis Online
The library provides access to a variety of full-text, in-depth, country reports available through "Business Source Complete." Search for your country by name, then in the left-hand facets under "Source Types," choose "Country Reports."
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Major source for business & finance research. Includes news, magazines, and scholarly articles as well as country, company, and industry profiles.
Also available is Europa World Plus which includes the Europa World Year Book and the nine Regional Surveys of the World and is an excellent, in-depth, source for finding country information.
Europa World This link opens in a new window
Online version of the Europa World Yearbook, covering political and economic information from over 250 countries and territories. Includes comparative statistical information, directories and maps.
Country Guides on the Web
Countries & Regions
From the World Bank - includes country briefs, overviews, statistics, analysis, and more.
From the International Monetary Fund - reports, press releases, and publications arranged by country.
From Michigan State University, statistical data for nearly every country around the world. In addition to statistics, historical, economic, and political conditions are available.
U.S. Department of State Country Information
Economic and political updates for countries around the world, includes "Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets."
The World Factbook
From the CIA - provides "information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities."
This guide highlights only a small portion of the many resources available to you. If you're not finding what you need, don't hesitate to contact Andrea!
Social Sciences Liaison Librarian
tel: (253) 879-2875
office: Collins Library 141
Request an Appointment with Andrea