Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Sage provides online Encyclopedias, Handbooks and Dictionaries that cover topics in the Social Sciences.
SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
The social sciences platform for SAGE and CQ Press books, reference materials and other content.
What's a tertiary source?
Tertiary sources are excellent starting points! They consist of information synthesized from primary and secondary sources. Examples include:
- Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- Fact books
- Indexes, abstracts, bibliographies used to locate primary and secondary sources
These resources give you succinct overviews of your topic, explain scholarly arguments, point out interesting questions, and refer you to especially key sources.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library includes the full text of over 100 subject encyclopedias spanning multiple disciplines.
Europa World Plus
Call Number: Click on the title above for online access.
Online version of the Europa World Yearbook, covering political and economic information from over 250 countries and territories. Includes comparative statistical information, directories and maps.
Encyclopedia of the Global Economy by
Call Number: REF HF1359 O28 2006 v. 1-2
Publication Date: 2005
Guide to researching issues related to IPE. See Vol. 1 for timelines, primary documents, and statistics; Vol. 2 offers overviews of major topics, theories, and key players in the global economy
Handbook of Tourism and the Environment by
Call Number: G155.A1 H65 2013
Publication Date: 2012
Explores and critically evaluates the debates and controversies inherent to tourism's relationship with nature, especially pertinent at a time of major re-evaluation of our relationship with the environment as a consequence of the environmental problems we now face.
This guide highlights only a small portion of the many resources available to you. If you're not finding what you need, don't hesitate to contact Andrea!
Social Sciences Liaison Librarian
tel: (253) 879-2875
office: Collins Library 141
Request an Appointment with Andrea