Skip to Main Content

SSI2-154: The Anthropology of Food and Eating

Search Primo

Search Collins+Summit+Articles

Strategies for Finding Books

1. Start with specific titles suggested in subject encyclopedia entries.

2. Identify the Library of Congress Subject Headings for that book to identify more books on the topic.

  • To do this, check the "Item Details" and simply click on one of the subject headings listed in the record for the book; the next screen will list all the books that share this subject term.

3. If required for your assignment, make sure that the book is scholarly. 

4. To find eBooks, use the filters on the right to limit your results to eBooks (under "Resource Type")

Featured Books

Food Culture

This volume offers a comprehensive guide to methods used in the sociocultural, linguistic and historical research of food use. This volume is unique in offering food-related research methods from multiple academic disciplines, and includes methods that bridge disciplines to provide a thorough review of best practices. 

Cooked

In Cooked, Michael Pollan explores the previously uncharted territory of his own kitchen. Here, he discovers the enduring power of the four classical elements - fire, water, air, and earth - to transform the stuff of nature into delicious things to eat and drink. 

Eating Culture: an anthropological guide to food

From ingredients and recipes to meals and menus across time and space, Eating Culture is a highly engaging overview that illustrates the important role that anthropology and anthropologists have played in understanding food.

The Food History Reader: primary sources

This collection spans the globe from classical antiquity to the present, offering substantive selections from cookbooks, fiction, gastronomic and dietary treatises and a wide range of food writing. Provides a solid introduction to each period with extensive commentary and suggestions for interpretive strategies.

Routledge International Handbook of Food Studies

Offers students, scholars and all those interested in food-related research a one-stop, easy-to-use reference guide. Each article includes a brief history of food research within a discipline or on a particular topic, a discussion of research methodologies and ideological or theoretical positions, resources for research, as well as suggestions for further study.

Tasting Food, Tasting Freedom: excursions into eating, culture, and the past

Explores how our choices about food are shaped by a vast and increasingly complex global economy

Why You Eat What You Eat: the science behind our relationship with food

Untangles the sensory, psychological, and physiological factors behind our eating habits, pointing us to a happier and healthier way of engaging with our meals.

Just Food: philosophy, justice, and food

Presents thirteen new philosophical essays that explore the causes and consequences of the inequities of our contemporary food system.

Food in the USA: a reader

From Thanksgiving to fast food to anorexia nervosa, Food in the USA brings together essential reading on these topics and is a substantial collection of essays on food and culture in America.

Food Citizenship: food system advocates in an era of distrust

In this book, Goldberg interviews the change makers of today's food system: leaders and constructive critics in government, private industry, nonprofits, and academia who provide a panoramic and in-depth look at a revolution in progress.

Streaming Media

Academic Video Online and Kanopy are streaming media services which provide access to a broad spectrum of educational and documentary content.

Online Reference Collections

Not sure where to look? Each of these online collections will introduce you to a wealth of dictionaries and encyclopedias.