Skip to Main Content

SSI2-101: Musical History of Tacoma

Group Activity

This activity has two parts. 

Part 1: A Sound Past

Using your knowledge of the musicians profiled in Sounds of our City, choose one or more of those people with a known connection to UPS and search for them by name in the A Sound Past archival database, e.g. Leroy Ostransky

Don't forget to cite your images! The item description should have all of the information you need. See the examples below for some options:

Chicago-style citation: 

First Name Last Name of creator, Title of Work, date of creation or completion, medium, Name of Institution, location (if applicable), URL.

MLA Style citation: 

Artist’s Last Name, First Name. “Title of Work.” Title of the Site, Date, URL. Accessed Date.

Part 2: News Tribune (Tacoma Collection)

Using the Concert Archives website, choose a concert that took place at the Tacoma Dome between 1992 and 2000. Then, utilize the News Tribune (Tacoma Collection) to search the Tacoma News Tribune archives, and find newspaper coverage of that concert. 

Search Tips:

  • Use the Advanced Search
  • Put the name of the performer in quotation marks, if it is more than one word, eg. "Elton John"
  • Try the phrase, after [the concert date], e.g. after September 9, 1995 and then sort by oldest to newest to see the articles nearest that date. 
  • Date searching is flexible in this database, and can be entered in multiple formats, e.g. September 9, 1995 or 9/9/95 or 09/09/1995.

Don't forget to cite your newspaper article! Use the "cite" button in the database to grab the information, and then check it against the citation style you are using. Examples are below:

Chicago-style citation:

Last-name, First Name. “Title of Article.” Title of Newspaper. Month Day, Year. url (accessed Month Day, Year).

MLA style citation:

Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." Name of Newspaper [city of newspaper if city name not in name], Date of Publication, p. Page number if given. Name of Database, Permalink URL.