Collins Memorial Library: SSI2-107: Leadership in American History: Historical &amp; Primary Sources

New York Times

New York Times (nytimes.com)
Full and unlimited access to all of the content on The New York Times web site. Users must register and log in. Once you’ve registered for an account, which you must do from within the campus network (i.e. on-campus), you may “log in” to that account from anywhere, anytime.

Once on the campus network, or connected to vDesk, to register go to: https://nytimesineducation.com/access-nyt/ and search for "University of Puget Sound."

Click "Create Account" and complete the registration fields using your @pugetsound.edu email address.

If you have previously registered your email address on The NYT site, click the "Already have an account? Log in here" link just below the "Create Account" button.

Access to the nytimes.com is partially supported by a contribution from ASUPS.

Library of Congress Subject Headings for Primary Sources

Books in Primo are assigned Library of Congress Subject Headings. In many ways, subject headings are a form of tagging, in that they represent the content of the material and provide ways for you to efficiently locate more materials that are conceptually related.

Library of Congress Subject Headings are also quite useful for discovering primary sources. The following subheadings usually are added to indicate that the material is a primary source: sources, personal narratives, correspondence, diaries, manuscripts, or notebooks. Once you've discovered the subject heading for secondary sources, try adding one of the primary source subheadings to see what you find. Here are some examples:

Secondary source subject heading: Chinese Americans -- History
Primary source subject heading: Chinese Americans -- History -- Sources.

Secondary source subject heading: Women -- Europe -- History -- Middle Ages, 500-1500.
Primary source subject heading: Women -- Europe -- History -- Middle Ages, 500-1500 -- Sources.

Secondary source subject heading: United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865.
Primary source subject heading: United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives, Confederate.

Of course, you also can do an author search for your person:

Historical U.S. Newspapers & Magazines - Digital Collections

Los Angeles Times Historical Newspaper (1881-1996) This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue of the Los Angeles Times newspaper.
New York Times Historical Newspaper This link opens in a new window
Includes full page images of the New York Daily Times (1851-1857) and the New York Times (1857-2017).
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
Provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982
Contains comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States.

Contemporary News
For more contemporary news databases, choose from the selections listed on the "Find News" library guide.

Online Collections

This is only a sampling of the collections out there, just to get you started!

American Decades Primary Sources (1900-1999)
Includes full or excerpted primary sources representing the seminal issues, themes, movements and events from each decade.
American Decades Primary Sources (2000-2009)
Includes full or excerpted primary sources representing the seminal issues, themes, movements and events from each decade.
Digital Collections: Library of Congress
Primary source materials including multimedia collections of digitized documents, photographs, recorded sound, moving pictures, and text from the Library of Congress.
History Study Center
Provides a collection of digitized primary and secondary sources for the study of history. Contents include reference books, essays, journal articles, historical newspaper and magazine articles, maps, rare books, government documents, transcripts of historical speeches, images and video clips.