Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Gender & Queer Studies

Primary Sources in Gender & Queer Studies

Primary sources in Gender & Queer Studies will vary depending on the course and research assignment given.

  • In art courses the original art studied is a primary source.
  • In literature and film courses the films, novels, poems, and other original texts are primary sources.
  • In history courses, historical documents such as photographs or newspaper stories are examples of primary sources.
  • In social science courses data, such as demographic statistics, are primary sources.

Subject Collections

Magazines

Ms. Magazine

Popular publications can provide insight for your research through news reporting, reviews, opinion pieces, illustrations, and advertising. Print issues are located downstairs in the periodical collection, organized alphabetically by title.

News Databases

Data & Statistics

Digital Collections

Selected Feature Films

Collins Library includes a growing collection of LGBTQ cinema on DVD. You can also request DVDs from SUMMIT and other libraries via ILL.

ARTstor

Visual materials, including images, are examples of primary sources. There are many image collections in ARTstor that are pertinent to Gender Studies, including the Women's Studies featured group which "documents the history and depiction of women across world cultures, including images of women in a variety of domestic and professional roles, women's rights movements, and representations of famous female figures from history, art, and literature."

Learn more about ARTstor collections relevant to Women's Studies.

Selected Primary Sources Online

Puget Sound Archives & Special Collections, Gender Studies

The Archives & Special Collections collects, preserves, and makes available primary source material documenting life at the University as well as collections representing regional, national and international issues.

The Abby Williams Hill papers, 1880s-1930s, include diaries, letters, photographs, and papers documenting the life and work of a female painter and social activist in the early 20th century.

Wollstonecraft, Mary, A vindication of the rights of woman: with strictures on political and moral subjects, 1796.

 

In addition, the Archives & Special Collections holds records documenting life on campus from 1888 to the present. A small portion of photographshistorical documents, and digitized material are available online. You can also browse archival and manuscript collections as well as rare books on Primo (limit the location to Archives & Special Collections).

Archives & Special Collections Hours

The Archives & Special Collections is located on the second floor of the Collins Memorial Library.

Set up an appointment: We are open to researchers by appointment Monday through Friday from 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM. To make an appointment, email archives@pugetsound.edu or book online

We look forward to assisting you!