Collins Memorial Library: Philosophy: Books & Media

Search Primo

Call Numbers to Browse in Philosophy

If you're interested in a broad philosophical topic, or would like to browse for inspiration, try one of these Library of Congress call letters:

B: History and Systems of Philosophy
BC: Logic
BD: Speculative philosophy, including metaphysics, epistemology, ontology, and cosmology
BH: Aesthetics
BJ: Ethics

These books can be found on the lower level of the library.

Locations of books

New books are located in the Library lobby and are in call number order.
Print Reference books are on the first floor across from the Learning Commons area.
Book stacks: Consult the library map; look for location posters; or ask any staff member for help!

New Titles in Collins Library!

Breakfast with Seneca: a Stoic guide to the art of living by David Fideler
Call Number: B618 .F53 2022 Print Books
ISBN: 9780393531664
Publication Date: 2021
Philosopher David Fideler mines Seneca's classic works in a series of focused chapters, clearly explaining Seneca's ideas without oversimplifying them.
Decolonizing American Philosophy by Corey McCall (Editor); Phillip McReynolds (Editor)
Call Number: Click on the title above for online access
ISBN: 9781438481937
Publication Date: 2021
Wide-ranging examination of American philosophy's ties to settler colonialism and its role as both an object and a force of decolonization.
The Ethics of Capitalism: an introduction by Daniel Halliday; John Thrasher
Call Number: Click on the title above for online access
ISBN: 9780190096205
Publication Date: 2020
This book seeks to both revisit historically influential arguments for capitalism while also examining how these historical views stand up to contemporary challenges of economic justice.
Metaphysical Animals: how four women brought philosophy back to life by Clare Mac Cumhaill; Rachael Wiseman
Call Number: B105.W6 M33 2022 Print Books
ISBN: 9780385545716
Publication Date: 2022
A vibrant portrait of four college friends--Iris Murdoch, Philippa Foot, Elizabeth Anscombe, and Mary Midgley--who formed a new philosophical tradition while Oxford's men were away fighting World War II.
The Philosophy of Envy by Sara Protasi
Call Number: BJ1535.E57 P76 2021 Print Books
ISBN: 9781316519172
Publication Date: 2021
Protasi argues that envy is more multifaceted than it seems, and that some varieties of it can be productive and even virtuous.
Queering Philosophy by Kim Q. Hall
Call Number: B63 .H35 2022 Print Books
ISBN: 9781786609410
Publication Date: 2022
Provides a critical introduction to and engagement with current conversations and emerging themes at the nexus of queer theory and philosophy.
Race As Phenomena: between phenomenology and philosophy of race by Emily S. Lee (Editor)
Call Number: HT1523 .R2519 2019 Print Books
ISBN: 9781786605368
Publication Date: 2019
This book introduces and explores the relation between race and phenomenology through varied African American, Latina, Asian American, and White American perspectives.
The Shame Machine: who profits in the new age of humiliation by Cathy O'Neil
Call Number: BF575.S45 O54 2022 Print Books
ISBN: 9781984825452
Publication Date: 2022
O'Neil explores the machinery behind shame, showing how governments, corporations, and the healthcare system capitalize on it.

E-books

E-books in Collins Library are fully integrated into Primo Search!

Consult the e-books guide to find out more about finding and using our growing e-book collection.

Google Books

Use Google Books to search the text of a book.

Book Reviews

By consulting book reviews of the scholarly works you are reading, you can gain a better understanding of the place of a particular work within the field. Here are a few tips for locating book reviews:

Check to see when your book was published. If it was published more than twenty years ago, and you aren't finding reviews online, you may need to look beyond online sources and check print indexes.
If you're having trouble finding a review, check with a librarian for help and to cover all your bases, but remember that some books are never reviewed. If that's the case, think about what that might mean about the book's scholarly importance.
In many databases, you can specifically limit your search results to just reviews.

For philosophy books, start with the resources below and branch out as needed.

Notre Dame Philosophical Reviews
NDPR publishes substantive, high-quality reviews for new philosophical titles.
Philosophy in Review
PIR is an open access, specialist book review journal in philosophy, published six times a year.

Finding Book Reviews Online

Search by the title of the book, or by the author of the review and a keyword from the title. Limit your results to reviews if available.

Academic Search Premier
A multidisciplinary database containing full text journal, magazine & newspaper articles, many from peer-reviewed titles. This scholarly collection covers information in nearly every area of academic study.
H-Net Online Reviews
Scholarly review resource for the humanities and social sciences.
JSTOR
An interdisciplinary journal archive. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
ProQuest Central
Covering more than 160 subject areas, ProQuest Central is a large aggregated database of periodical content. It features a diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.