Collins Memorial Library: Theatre 200: Portfolio Project (Smith): Water by the Spoonful

The Play

Water by the Spoonful by Quiara Alegría Hudes
Call Number: Print Books PS3608.U3234 W38 2012
ISBN: 9781559364386
Publication Date: 2012-09-25
Somewhere in Philadelphia, Elliot has returned from Iraq and is struggling to find his place in the world. Somewhere in a chat room, recovering addicts forge an unbreakable bond of support and love. The boundaries of family and community are stretched across continents and cyberspace as birth families splinter and online families collide.

The playwright's website

"A Sort of Homecoming." American Theatre 31, no. 1 (January 2014): 86-90.

This article discusses the work of playwright Quiara Alegría Hudes and how growing up in West Philadelphia, Pennsylvania has influenced her plays.

Greene, Alexis. "No Place Like Home." American Theatre 25.8 (2008): 32-34.

This article discusses the work and work process of playwright Quiara Alegria Hudes in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

An interview with the author

The author talks about her research process when writing the play.

Includes biography, images, and information about the play

Pulitzer Prize finalist Quiara Alegria Hudes discusses "Water by the Spoonful," playing at Hartford Stage October 20 - November 13, 2011.

These databases provide biographical information about the author.

Water by the Spoonful premiered in 2011 at the Hartford Stage.

To help organize your production history, develop a timeline.

Newspaper Source
Includes reviews of the following productions:
2014 Studio Theatre, Washington DC
Los Angeles Times
Includes reviews of the following productions:
2014 Old Globe, San Diego

2018, Taper Forum, Los Angeles
Nexis Uni
Includes reviews of the following productions:
2016 South Bend Civic Theatre, Indiana
2013 Second Stage, New York
MasterFILE Premier
Includes reviews of the following productions:
2013 Second Stage Theatre, New York
2013 Hartford Sage, Connecticut
2011 Hartford Stage, Connecticut (Premiere)
ProQuest Central
Includes reviews of the following productions:
2014 Court Theatre, Chicago
2014 Arden Theatre, Philadelphia
2014 Westhoff Theatre, Ilinois
2011 Hartford Stage, Connecticut

New York Times (nytimes.com)
2012, Second Stage Theatre, NY - See An Extended Family, Sharing Extended Pain

To find production photos, do a Google image search.

For other images, search ArtStor, an image database.

Not sure where to look? Each of these online collections will introduce you to a wealth of dictionaries and encyclopedias.

Topic areas related to the play:

American Decades Primary Sources (2000-2009)
Includes full or excerpted primary sources representing the seminal issues, themes, movements and events from each decade.

Here Comes Everybody by Clay Shirky
Call Number: Print Books (HM851 .S5465 2008 )
ISBN: 9781594201530
Publication Date: 2008-02-28
'Here Comes Everybody' is an examination of how the spread of new forms of social interaction enabled by technology is changing the way humans form and exist within groups, with profound long-term economic and social effects, for good and for ill.
Bowling, beatniks, and bell-bottoms : pop culture of 20th- and 21st-century America
Call Number: ebook
Covers the popular culture of the 20th Century and first decade of the 21st Century.
V. 1. 1900s-1910s -- v. 2. 1920s-1930s -- v. 3. 1940s-1950s -- v. 4. 1960s-1970s -- v. 5. 1980s-1990s -- v. 6. 2000-2009.

Primo is the library gateway to books, films, music, selected articles and more.