Collins Memorial Library: Hispanic Studies: Articles

Key Resource

Fuente Academica
Fuente Academica is a unique collection of scholarly academic journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. The database provides full text coverage for more than 500 scholarly Spanish language journals.

MLA International Bibliography

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The key database for identifying scholarly books, essays, articles, and dissertations on modern literature in all languages. Also covers cultural studies, folklore, film studies, and linguistics.

MLA International Bibliography Tutorial

Literature Criticism

Gale Literature Criticism includes overviews as well as excerpts from articles, books, and essays written by scholars and full-text literary criticism. It is a very useful tool for discerning key trends in scholarly interpretation. Use this database to find reviews and scholarly treatments of Hispanic authors, works, periods, and themes. Each record includes full bibliographic information so that you can track down the original sources.

Literature Criticism
Includes overviews by topic, author, and work, as well as excerpts from articles, books, and essays written by scholars.

How to Search for Spanish Language Material in Databases

Depending on the database, there are a few strategies to find resources written in Spanish:

You can:

conduct your search in English and then, once you have a list of results, click on the Search Options and then from the Language list, select Spanish.
search using Spanish search terms.
locate the Thesaurus or Subject Terms and appropriate Spanish terms.

Be aware of databases that auto correct Spanish words to similar English words.

Featured Journals

E-Journal Collections

These e-journal collections provide access to many journals in the field of Hispanic Studies, but they are more limited in scope and coverage compared to a subject database like Fuente Academica or the MLA International Bibliography. In most cases, it's better to search subject databases to identify articles, and then search the journal title in Primo to link to the materials in these e-journal collections. However, if you are doing interdisciplinary research, JSTOR and Project Muse can be excellent databases to search because of their multidisciplinary focus.

JSTOR
An interdisciplinary journal archive. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Project MUSE
Interdisciplinary database includes books and articles from scholarly publishers with focus on humanities and social science.

Additional Databases for Historical & Cultural Scholarship

Depending on your needs, you may also wish to explore some of these databases.

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, books, essays in books, and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of world history from 1450 to the present. Does not include United States and Canadian history, which is covered in America: History and Life.
PRISMA Database (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas)
A comprehensive reference resource providing scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin. Content is available in Spanish, Portuguese and English

Latin America & Iberian Database
Full-text access to academic journals that are published in many Latin American countries, Spain, and Portugal. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, social sciences, education, and humanities.

Humanities Abstracts
Covers topics including art, classical studies, dance, film, journalism, philosophy, religion and much more. Content includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and reviews.
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals
Contains article citations from academic and popular film journals. Also included is The Treasures from the Film Archives dataset; a database containing credits and information about the silent-era film holdings of archives from around the world, and a full text set of key reference volumes such as the Oxford History of World Cinema (OUP, 1997) and Film Analysis: A Norton Reader (Norton, 2005).
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.

Directory of Open Access Journals: DOAJ is an extensive index of diverse open access journals from around the world, and is committed to ensuring quality content is freely available online for everyone. DOAJ has over 13,000 OA journals with 134 countries and over 80 languages represented.

Tipasa: Interlibrary Loan

If your article is not available at Collins Library, you've got another option for getting it. Use Tipasa, our interlibrary loan service.

Tipasa is linked to your library account so you'll need to log in to use it.

Once you are logged in, either go directly to Tipasa and manually enter the information, or, if you're using a database, look for a shortcut link to automatically fill out the form:

Allow at least a week for the article to come. If your article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with a link to follow as soon as it's arrived.