Collins Memorial Library: ARTH 361: Roman Art: Getting Started

From Idea to Question

Focus on what interests you.

Start with a broad topic.

Do some background reading to find a way into the topic and narrow it.

Develop questions, focusing on how and why. Turn your questions into one that is significant and worth asking.

Search the Catalog

Use Primo to find resources on your topic at Collins Library and beyond. Request books held by Summit libraries for delivery to Collins Library in about 5 days. Books can also be requested from non-Summit libraries -- via Interlibrary loan -- if needed, for delivery in about 12 days.

Subject Search Terms

Books are an important source of information in art history. To find out what the library owns, use Primo. Below are some suggested subject headings.

Subject Encyclopedias

Art Online (Oxford)
Covers all aspects of Western and non-Western visual art. Includes the full text of 'The Dictionary of Art,' and gives users access to subject entries, biographies, bibliographic citations, image links and images contained within Grove Art Online, as well as entries and images from the 'Oxford Companion to Western Art,' the 'Concise Dictionary of Art Terms,' and 'Oxford’s Encyclopedia of Aesthetics.' Thematic timelines and learning resources are also included.

Access limited to 3 simultaneous users.
Oxford Reference
Contains the complete texts of many Oxford companions, encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference titles in a fully indexed, cross-searchable database. Included in addition to articles are images, maps, timelines, bibliographies, photographs and much more.

Print Reference Sources

Civilization of the Ancient Mediterranean by Rachel Kitzinger (Editor); Michael Grant (Editor)
Call Number: Reference (DE59 .C55 1988 )
ISBN: 0684175940
Publication Date: 1988-01-01
A three-volume reference work of 97 original essays on the people, customs, government, religion, and arts of the ancient world, from 2000 B.C. to the fall of Rome in A.D.476. Structured to present a comparative rather than chronological study of Greek and Roman institutions and life. The essays are
Brill's New Pauly by Hubert Cancik (Editor); Helmut Schneider (Editor); Manfred Landfester (Editor); Christine F. Salazar (Editor)
Call Number: DE5 .N4813 Reference
ISBN: 9004122591
Publication Date: 2011
Brill s New Pauly is the first lexicographic project that both differentiates between Greco-Roman antiquity itself and its subsequent images, and demonstrates the close connection between antiquity and its aftermath.
An Encyclopedia of the History of Classical Archaeology by Nancy T. De Grummond (Editor)
Call Number: DE5 .E5 1996 Reference
ISBN: 0313220662
Publication Date: 1996
Focuses on Greek and Roman material, but also covers the prehistoric and semi-historical cultures of the Bronze Age Aegean and the Etruscans and manifestations of Greek and Roman culture in other parts of Europe and the Mediterranean Sea.
A New Topographical Dictionary of Ancient Rome by L. Richardson
Call Number: Books (DG68 .R5 1992 )
ISBN: 9780801843006
Publication Date: 1992-10-01
The first such dictionary since that of Platner and Ashby in 1929, A New Topographical Dictionary of Ancient Rome defines and describes the known buildings and monuments, as well as the geographical and topographical features, of ancient Rome. It provides a concise history of each, with measurements, dates, and citations of significant ancient and modern sources.
Rome by Amanda Claridge; Judith Toms; Tony Cubberley
Call Number: Print Books (DG62 .C53 1998 )
ISBN: 9780192880031
Publication Date: 1998-06-25
This text consists of an illustrated guide to all the major sites in twelve main areas in central Rome, and four in Greater Rome, including the Capitoline Hill, Roman Forum, Colosseum, Mausoleums of Augustus and Hadrian, the Circus Maximus, Catacombs, Ostia, and Tivoli.
A Companion to Roman Architecture by Roger B. Ulrich (Editor); Caroline K. Quenemoen (Editor)
Call Number: Click on title above for online access.
ISBN: 1299988520
Publication Date: 2013
Offers a cross-disciplinary approach to Roman architecture, spanning technology, history, art, politics, and archaeology.
Atlas of the Roman World by Tim Cornell; John R. Matthews
Call Number: Reference (DG77 .C597 1983 )
ISBN: 9780871966520
Publication Date: 1982-10-01
This comprehensive, three-part historical and cultural atlas documents the origins of Rome and Greek influence, the transition from Republican to Imperial Rome, and the rise and decline of the Roman Empire.
Lexicon Topographicum Urbis Romae by Eva Margareta Steinby (Editor); Mary Louise Hart (Editor)
Call Number: Print Books (DG63 .L49 1993 )
ISBN: 9788871401720
Publication Date: 2001-08-09
The Lexicon Topographicum Urbis Romae is a multi-volume set that contains 2,300 entries on the topography of ancient Rome. It provides an up-to-date account of current research on public and private buildings and monuments constructed within the Aurelianic walls through the early seventh century A.D.
The Oxford Companion to Archaeology by Brian M. Fagan (Editor)
Call Number: Click on title above for online access.
ISBN: 9780195076189
Publication Date: 1996
Entries range from broad overviews, to treatments of particular themes, to discussions of peoples, societies, and particular sites.