Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Policies

A-B

Animals

Animals are not permitted in the Library, with the exception of animals assisting persons with disabilities.

Archives

Bicycles

Bicycles are not permitted in the library. They must be parked in designated outside areas.

C

Cell Phones

Ringing phones and loud conversations make library use difficult for many people. To provide an environment conducive to study and research, we ask that you observe the following courtesies inside the library building:

  1. Turn your cellular phone off or switch to a silent mode while in the library.
  2. Anyone receiving a call must immediately put the call on hold and move to a study room, the main library entrance outside the security gates, or outside the library to use a phone.
  3. If making a call, we ask that you move to a study room,  the main library entrance, or outside the library to initiate your call.

Children

Unaccompanied minors or children are not permitted in the Library. If you have questions or special needs, please consult with the library administration office.

Collection Development

Confidentiality

  • The University of Puget Sound respects the privacy of all its students, faculty, staff and affiliated patrons regarding the use of its library. All library records relating to an individual patron's use of the library and its resources are considered confidential. Confidentiality extends to information sought or received, and materials consulted, borrowed or acquired and includes such records as circulation records, interlibrary loan records, reference interviews, database search records, Internet use history, and other personally identifiable records of the use of library materials, facilities and services.
  • The library staff shall not release the name of a person to whom a book is charged, past circulation records (including interlibrary loan and course reserves) personal information contained in circulation patron records, or otherwise identify users of any library services, including users of computer terminals on the library premises.
  • Library records may, however, be consulted and used by University of Puget Sound library staff in the course of conducting library operations, and may be disclosed pursuant to the requirements of Federal, state and local laws, including law enforcement subpoenas, court orders or search warrants.

Copyright

D-F

Document Delivery

The library relies on resource sharing, interlibrary loan and document delivery as an extension of the collection. Interlibrary loan is a formal agreement among libraries to share materials with, or provide copies to, other libraries. Because of the ever increasing publication of materials and the impossibility of one library owning everything, the importance of interlibrary loan has intensified. Collins Memorial Library enhances its borrowing and lending capabilities through membership in the OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) network, an automated system that connects the library to over 27,000 members in 171 countries as well as through its cooperative agreement with the Orbis/Cascade Alliance (Summit) consortium of 36 Oregon and Washington libraries. Document delivery service, the provision of high-resolution photocopies of journal articles more rapidly than the traditional interlibrary loan service, is another way that the library seeks to improve access to information for its users.

If an article is needed quickly, a rush request can be submitted by current students, faculty, and staff. Books cannot be rushed. A rush request form must be filled out and turned in at the circulation desk along with a $2.00 service fee. This is a non-refundable processing fee and does not guarantee that the item will arrive by a certain date. Every effort will be made to assure fast service, however, availability and date of material do affect delivery time. The average length of time for a Document Delivery article to arrive is 2-5 working days.

Exhibit Displays

Information about the Exhibit Display space:

We hope this page will provide you with useful information as you begin your creative work.  We anticipate that your items will be displayed in either the tall or flat cases.  If you have special requests for display it is important that you contact Jane Carlin to talk through your concerns.  We want to be sure that they are protected and secure.

Coll"The Link" library exhibit spaceins Memorial Library is an active and busy library.  The exhibition space is in a large visible area that is called “The Link.”  The space is adjacent to the library’s general information and circulation desk.  The space has been the site of many book arts exhibitions, including the annual Puget Sound Book Artists exhibition for the last eight years.  The space is large and airy and can accommodate six standing cases and 4 flat cases.  The dimensions of the cases are below.  There is limited wall space for display.  Below are several images of the space from previous exhibitions as well as photographs of the cases.

To insure that each book gets displayed well, we recommend that you keep the exhibition case dimensions in mind as you consider your book.

Because the space is public and not a gallery which is monitored by an assistant at all times, it is our general policy to include works that are able to be kept in the locked cases to assure protection and security of the work of art.  We can make exceptions, but the artist will need to understand the limitations of the space.

THE LINK exhibit space

THE LINK exhibit space

TALL CASES: (divided with two shelves) 51

TALL CASES: (divided with two shelves) 51" Tall 44.5" long length 16" short length

FLAT CASES: 6

FLAT CASES: 6" tall 57" long length 27" short length

WALL CASES: (

WALL CASES: ("glass viewing-area") 31" long + 31" long (62" total, but divided by wood) 52" tall

Filming

All filming activities, including still or motion, are arranged through the Library Administration Office, in order to minimize disruption.

Food and Drink

Collins Memorial Library established these guidelines with the following goals in mind:

  •  To create an environment of mutual respect and to promote learning.
  • To respect our hard-working custodial staff by taking responsibility for our personal behavior.
  • To preserve our library collections and protect our facility from pests and harmful molds.
  • To help to ensure the health and safety of all library users and a long life for library collections, furnishings, and equipment.
  • To promote recycling of appropriate food and drink packaging.
  • To continue to direct library funds to purchasing library resources that support the curriculum, rather than to replacing materials, furnishings, and equipment damaged by food and drink.

We therefore ask that you act responsibly when consuming food and drink in the library and abide by the Leave No Trace philosophy.

We recognize that snacks and drinks are important and can contribute to your study.  However, hot meals and group meals should be consumed prior to visiting the library or in our designated break space in the lower level of the library. Located in this area are vending machines,  an instant hot water tap, and tables and chairs for breaks, where you can consume your meals.   

  • Plan ahead and prepare: Plan to eat your meals before you come to the library.
  • General Statement about food:   If you carry in snacks or drinks, please avoid messy or greasy foods that may damage library material and facilities.  Beverages should be in covered containers.  Please do not bring in hot food, liquid foods such as soups or full meals on trays.
  • Dispose of waste properly: Pack it in, pack it out: carry out any leftover food and non-disposable utensils or containers that you bring into the library. Place recyclables in recycling bins and non-recyclable garbage in trash cans. If you must dispose of beverages, pour liquids into the bathroom sink before recycling or throwing away the containers.
  • Spills:  Report accidental spills to library staff as soon as possible.
  • Be considerate of other visitors: Respect your fellow library users and the next generation of library users
  • Use the designated break zone:  There is a designated break zone for library users on the lower level of the library.  Located in this area are vending machines, hot water tap, and tables and chairs for breaks. 
  • Control Noise;  There are several group study rooms in the Library.  If you are working in a group, consider using one of these rooms.  Our general policy is, the higher you go in the building, the quieter it is.  Quiet study spaces on the 2nd-4th floor are available.  The Reading Rooms in the front of the Library are designed for independent study, but due to the high traffic in the front of the Library are not necessarily the most quiet area of the building.
  • Cell Phones:  If you use your cell phone, find an empty study room or move to the outside of the Library.

G-I

General Checkout

Gifts

The Library Director and the Development Office of the university will coordinate monetary gifts. Unrestricted financial gifts for acquisitions are welcome and appreciated because they offer the opportunity to support library acquisitions in needed and unanticipated ways. Particularly valuable or large collections as donations should also be coordinated through the Library Director’s office.

The library selectively accepts donations of physical materials which are in good condition provided there are no restrictions or conditions attached to the donation.

Since the library has limited space for adding new materials, potential donors should contact the Associate Director for Resource Management Services to arrange the donation prior to bringing the material to the library. The criteria used for the selection of new materials will be applied to gifts at a collective and individual level, namely, items which fit the general selection criteria outlined above in this document. Donated materials that are accepted but not added to the library collection will be disposed of using normal library procedures. The library cannot guarantee we will notify and return non-added materials to the donor. Donations of physical materials left without prior arrangement will be discarded.

The library does not appraise gift materials for tax purposes: that is the responsibility of the donor. Upon request, the library will provide a letter to a donor acknowledging receipt of their donation, which will include the number of volumes donated, but not a title list. Requests for such letters must be made at the time of donation.

Information Use

Interlibrary Loan

L

Learning Commons

Library Cards

Licensed Resources

M

Media Use

Microform Use

Collins Library resources that are uniquely available on microfiche or microfilm may be scanned and delivered electronically to your desktop free of charge.

All microform scanning service requests are processed and delivered through Interlibrary Loan. Once you have logged into your Interlibrary Loan account, you may place a request using the form. Your request will be delivered electronically within 24 hours.

First time users need to set up an Interlibrary Loan account to request microform scanning. Registered users may request items by submitting a new request.

Policy

  • The Microform Scanning Service is only available to current Puget Sound faculty, students, staff, and retired faculty.
  • Requests must be submitted through Interlibrary Loan.  Each new request may be up to 30 pages long with a maximum number of three requests per day.
  • Requests for articles that are readily available online or in the library's print collection will be cancelled.

 

N-P

Periodicals Circulation

Department Overview
The Periodicals unit is part of Acquisitions. Periodicals oversees ordering and receiving journals and newspapers in both paper and micro formats as well as electronic journals. We subscribe to approximately 1800 titles and receive an average of 75 journals and newspapers each day.

If you would like to know if Collins Memorial Library subscribes to a particular title, please use our Journal Locator.

How to locate Periodicals
All periodicals are shelved in alphabetical order. If you cannot find the issues you are looking for, check in Temporary Shelving, room 014. Current periodicals can be found at the Periodicals Display shelving located in the front of Collins Library. Bound periodicals are located in the basement:

    A - C: Room 011
    D - Journal of than: Room 007
    Journal of the - R: Room 006
    S - Z: Room 012
    Microfilm/Microfiche: Room 013

Circulation Policy
Periodicals are for in-library-use only and cannot be checked out. Copy machines are located in the basement of Collins Library, room 008.

Periodicals Donations

See Periodical Donations Policy   (NOTE: INCORRECT LINK)

Posters and Flyers

Items posted on Library bulletin boards must be approved by the Library Director's Office (Rm 125). There are designated bulletin boards for campus flyers.

R

Reserves

Rollerblades/Skates

Rollerblades and roller-skates are not allowed in the library for safety reasons.

Room 118 Use

Library 118 Guidelines and Use Policy

 

Introduction

Library 118 was specifically created for and serves as the main teaching space for librarian-led information literacy instruction, in direct support of the Library’s mission to reinforce and enhance the Puget Sound curriculum.  The room facilitates hands-on experience with all phases of the research process, from concept mapping on the white boards, to searching databases and catalogs on the computers, to learning new knowledge management practices. Librarians, working in close partnership with faculty, use this space to deliver course-integrated, active learning opportunities for our students.

Library 118 is managed by library staff. Email the library at libref@pugetsound.edu concerning policy questions.
 

Reservations/Booking

Reservations for instruction and training are scheduled by sending an email to libref@pugetsound.edu. Please notify the library as soon as possible if there is a cancellation.

Hours and Times for Scheduling

A key component of the library's teaching and learning program is the flexibility to schedule sessions when they are needed and as they are requested, often with little advance notice. Therefore, librarians will be guaranteed use of the classroom during regular blocks of time known as prime time. Prime time is defined as the hours of 8am to 5pm, Monday through Friday during the academic year (Aug. - May). Other individuals and groups are limited to booking the classroom 48 hours in advance during prime time.  The library reserves the right to cancel non-teaching sessions that conflict with class requests.

Priorities for Scheduling During Prime Time

The classroom is used for teaching, which includes:  

  • library related teaching
  • academic courses requiring occasional use of an electronic classroom
  • staff and faculty training

Priority in the use of the electronic classroom is given to:

  • Course-integrated instruction and workshops taught by librarians

The classroom is not available for:

  • groups or individuals that are not part of or hosted by the University
  • consecutively scheduled meetings
  • an entire course


Library 118 Rules of Use

  • No food may be taken into the classroom; drinks are allowed if they are in a covered beverage container.
  • No software may be added to or removed from the computers without prior permission of the Library.
  • No one may alter, tamper, revise or otherwise change any hardware, furniture, or classroom equipment.
  • The classroom cannot be utilized during hours when the Library is not open to the public.
  • First-time users may schedule a brief orientation session with a librarian or the Learning Commons staff.

Reservations

Meeting Rooms

There are several meeting rooms in the library that can be reserved using the 25 Live Room scheduling service.  Room requests should be made through this system.  The library does not schedule these rooms.

Scheduling Link:  25live.pugetsound.edu
View the tutorial:  https://www2.pugetsound.edu/files/resources/eventcreationtutorialv3.pdf

Misner Room (Main floor, room 127)
Please note, this room is adjacent to a study area and it is not sound proofed.
Seats 27
Fourteen around one large board room table and an additional 11 seats in perimeter upholstered chairs; has whiteboard and projection screen and side board.

McCormick Room (Third floor, room 303)
Seats 25 
(Room Capacity: 40 Additional chairs should be requested in the room reservation process)
Twenty chairs around nine (2.5' x 5.5') board room tables plus four easy chairs and a loveseat. Has whiteboard, telephone, satellite cable outlet and projection screen. If you need a different table arrangement in the McCormick room, feel free to move tables as needed; however, please remember to allow extra time to return the tables to their original configuration before your group's departure.

Library Conference room 053 (Lower Level)
Seats up to 24 in a variety of configurations. Media includes a ceiling mounted projector, sound system, podium with presenter computer, and HDMI connection.

Library Conference room 054 (Lower Level)
Seats up to 16 in a hollow square. Media includes LCD TV and HDMI connection.


25Live.pugetsound.edu - Downloadable Tutorial

S

Smoking

Smoking is prohibited in all University buildings, including the Library. For more information, read the University policy.

Study Carrels

Study carrels are available on a first-come, first-served basis.

Summit Loans

Summit Borrowing Policies include:

  • Must be currently student, faculty or staff at a member institution. Borrowing from Summit is free for authorized users.
  • Loan periods and renewals
    • Most items are checked out for 6 weeks.
    • Special materials such as DVDs, videotapes, and sound recordings may be available for a 6-day or 6-week borrowing period if the owning library elects to make this option available.
    • Summit items cannot be renewed.  We suggest requesting another copy of the item during the 5th week of the loan so you can the original copy while the 2nd copy is on its way to you.
  • Materials borrowed through Summit can be returned to Collins library, the owning library, or any Alliance member library.
  • Replacement costs and administrative fees will be charged for lost or damaged items.

T-Z

Visitor Borrowing

Community Privileges

Library Card (University ID)

  • The library is open to visitors Monday - Friday 8am - 5pm. 

    • Card access only after 5pm and on weekends.

  • As a Washington State resident, you may obtain a community card to use Puget Sound library resources.
  • Cost:
    • $150.00 per calendar year
      • Community card holders who have originally purchased a one year $150 card may renew at the reduced fee of $100 per year.
    • $100.00 for six consecutive months
  • Expiration Date:
    • 1-year card - One year from the date of purchase.
    • 6-month card - Six months from the date of purchase.
  • What we need from you: A valid Washington State ID, a valid Washington State Driver's License, or proof of residence.
  • Requirements: Patrons must reside in Washington State.
  • Privileges are non-transferable.
  • Paid community borrowers may use electronic resources within the library but are not eligible for remote access.  Printing is unavailable.  For more information, see General Use Guidelines for Electronic Resources.

 

Checkout Privileges

PRINT MATERIALS:

Books

 

5 Books 
6 Weeks, 1 renewal
Journals In-house Only
Reference In-house Only
Other

No Summit
No Interlibrary Loan

 

MEDIA MATERIALS:
DVDs & CDs 4 weeks, 1 week renewal

 

In addition to check out privileges, community card holders may seek limited librarian’s assistance with resources at Collins Library. We encourage visitors to start with their public or academic library to ensure they have utilized their local or regional resources. Puget Sound students, faculty and staff have priority in Reference Service and the use of all library resources and equipment.

 
   

University Policies

Campuswide Policies