Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
National & International News
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Find global information on topics related to business and economics, the environment, global issues, health, international studies, literature, performing and fine arts, politics and government, science, social issues, technology and more from a variety of news media featuring newspapers, videos and web-only content.
Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
A full text database comprised of articles from alternative and independent press newspapers, magazines and journals.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Focus is on ethnic area studies, and related arts, business, education, environment, history, journalism, political science and sociology news. Some Spanish language sources are available.
News & Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Contains all of the news content provided to Puget Sound by ProQuest. Includes alternative, national, international, local and historical news.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Provides cover-to-cover full text for national (U.S.) newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post and The Washington Times. The database also contains selective full text for regional (U.S.) newspapers. Also includes international news sources including The Times (London), The Toronto Star and others.
New York Times
New York Times (nytimes.com) This link opens in a new window
Full and unlimited access to all of the content on The New York Times web site. Users must register and log in. Once you’ve registered for an account, which you must do from within the campus network (i.e. on-campus), you may “log in” to that account from anywhere, anytime.
Once on the campus network, or connected to vDesk, to register go to: https://nytimesineducation.com/access-nyt/
and search for "University of Puget Sound."
Click "Create Account" and complete the registration fields using your @pugetsound.edu email address.
If you have previously registered your email address on The NYT site, click the "Already have an account? Log in here" link just below the "Create Account" button.
Access to the nytimes.com is partially supported by a contribution from ASUPS.