Collins Memorial Library: SSI2-114: Humans, Nature, and the Environment (Prof. Woods): Popular & News Articles

Popular Sources

When searching in Academic Search Premier or ProQuest Central be sure to use the filters on the left to limit to 'magazines' or 'trade publicatlions" when looking for primarily popular sources.

Academic Search Premier
A multidisciplinary database containing full text journal, magazine & newspaper articles, many from peer-reviewed titles. This scholarly collection covers information in nearly every area of academic study.
ProQuest Central
Covering more than 160 subject areas, ProQuest Central is a large aggregated database of periodical content. It features a diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.

National Geographic Magazine
Browse the archives of National Geographic Magazine back to 2005.

The New York Times Science Section
- Note- To avoid the10-article limit, UPS users must register and log in to NYTimes.com. Once you’ve registered for an account, which you do from within the campus network (i.e. on-campus), you may “log in” to that account from anywhere, anytime. To register go to: http://accessnyt.com; Click "Create Account" and complete the registration fields (it is recommended that you use your @pugetsound.edu email address).

Current News Coverage

When looking for news, try one of the databases below, which cover the major news sources in the United States.

US Newsstream
Search the most recent U.S. news content, featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. Offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers.
Newspaper Source
Provides cover-to-cover full text for national (U.S.) newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post and The Washington Times. The database also contains selective full text for regional (U.S.) newspapers. Also includes international news sources including The Times (London), The Toronto Star and others.