Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Getting Started with Subject Encyclopedias
Subject encyclopedias, handbooks and overviews are scholarly, tertiary works written by experts on a variety of topics. An hour spent with one or more subject encyclopedias early on in the research process will save you hours of wasted time! The background information provides a good starting point as you begin the research process. Articles in subject encyclopedias are written by scholars who have deep specialization in the topic and the articles themselves go through a stringent editing process. Here's what subject encyclopedias provide:
- a broad overview of a topic that is more in-depth than in general encyclopedias
- Discussion of how scholars have approached, explored, and debated the topic over time (historiography)
- words, phrases, names, dates, and events that can be used as keywords when searching a database
- bibliographies in articles to find other sources (both primary and secondary); typically, these bibliographies point to just a few key sources, rather than overwhelming you with a comprehensive list.
- cross-references to find related topics
- Look for "see also" at the beginning or end of the article
- Some encyclopedias highlight words in the text of the article to indicate that there is a separate entry on that topic
In Collins Library, the print reference collection is located on the first floor, and most of the online reference collection is available in one of the database collections listed on the right. Use Primo to identify subject encyclopedias in either format; or ask a librarian for recommendations.
Online Reference Collections
Not sure where to look? Each of these online collections will introduce you to a wealth of dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Biography Reference Center This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text biographies, including the complete full-text run of Biography Today and Biography.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Provides full text online access to Gale electronic books, including encyclopedias and other reference resources.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Contains articles from academic journals and literary magazines as well as excerpts from scholarly monographs, literary correspondence and diaries.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Contains the complete texts of many Oxford companions, encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference titles in a fully indexed, cross-searchable database. Included in addition to articles are images, maps, timelines, bibliographies, photographs and much more.
SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
The social sciences platform for SAGE and CQ Press books, reference materials and other content.