Collins Memorial Library: Abby Williams Hill: Artist and Advocate: Additional Resources

Recommended Additional Resources

The search for primary sources does not stop with one institution! Below are some additional, freely-available resources and digital collections that may be of interest on Abby Williams Hill:

Abby Williams Hill Collection finding aid
The Abby Williams Hill Collection finding aid outlines the physical collection held by the University of Puget Sound Archives & Special Collections. The collection contains approximately 150 paintings and drawings and includes letters, diaries, daybooks, postcards, news clippings, ephemera, and artifacts documenting the life of Hill and her family.
Abby Williams Hill journals
This is a digital collection of an assortment of journals belonging to Abby Williams Hill. These journals focus on Hill’s travels throughout the United States with her four children between 1895 and 1906 and provide a unique female perspective on significant issues affecting the nation at that time, including education, tourism, and the rights of women, African Americans, Native Americans, and the working class. Her detailed observations of daily events coupled with her unique life experiences create a rich and varied resource for scholars of all ages.
Abby Williams Hill paintings
This is a digital collection of over 100 paintings and sketches by Abby Williams Hill, which range in date between 1886-1934.
Abby Williams Hill photographs
This is a digital collection of photographs from the Abby Williams Hill Collection. The majority of the photographs feature Hill and her family members.

Continuing Your Research

If you'd like to continue researching this topic, we recommend using the below search terms and subject headings. Copy the terms and paste them into your library's online catalog (for Puget Sound community members, copy it into the Primo search box on Collins Memorial Library's front page) or digital collections database.

Library of Congress subject headings:

Hill, Abby Williams, (1861-1943)
Hill, Abby Williams, 1861-1943 -- Diaries
Oglala Indians
Railroads -- United States
Railroads -- West (U.S.)
Salish Indians
Women artists -- Travel
Women painters -- Washington (state) -- 19th century