Collins Memorial Library: SSI1-141: Architectures of Power (Despres): Argument Sources

Using Primo

Primo is a library search tool for finding materials in the Collins Library and Summit libraries. You can search for books, selected articles and more in a single search box.

Search Primo

General Primo Search Tips

Use the pull-down scoping options to search Collins, Summit and Articles OR Collins and Summit, OR just Collins.
Use quotes to search for "exact titles".
Use the filters on the right side to quickly narrow your search.
Sign in with your Puget Sound username and password to gain access to online resources and request items from other libraries.

Featured Resources

A sampling of potentially relevant books is listed below.

The Haiti Reader by Laurent Dubois (Editor); Kaiama L. Glover (Editor); Nadève Ménard (Editor); Millery Polyné (Editor); Chantalle F. Verna (Editor)
Call Number: Click on the title above for online access
ISBN: 9781478005162
Publication Date: 2020
Introduces readers to Haiti's dynamic history and culture from the viewpoint of Haitians from all walks of life. It's dozens of selections are representative of Haiti's scholarly, literary, religious, visual, musical, and political cultures, and range from poems, novels, and political tracts to essays, legislation, songs, and folk tales.
Haitian History: New Perspectives by Alyssa Goldstein Sepinwall (Editor)
Call Number: Click on the title above for online access
ISBN: 0415808685
Publication Date: 2012
Presents the best of the recent articles on Haitian history, by both Haitian and foreign scholars, moving from colonial Saint Domingue to the aftermath of the 2010 earthquake.
From Dessalines to Duvalier: race, colour and national independence in Haiti by David Nicholls
Call Number: Click on the title above for online access
ISBN: 0813522404
Publication Date: 1996
Discusses the impact of "color" on the political relationship between the black majority and the mulatto elite during almost two hundred years of Haitian history.

Databases for Literature and History

Selected articles subscribed to by Collins Library are available in Primo, but you'll want to search individual databases for more comprehensive results. These subject databases are especially useful for finding literary and historical scholarship.

When searching for articles, click on the "check for full text" link to see if Collins Library has the journal or you need to order it through interlibrary loan.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The key database for identifying scholarly books, essays, articles, and dissertations on modern literature in all languages.
Literature Criticism
Includes overviews by topic, author, and work, as well as excerpts from articles, books, and essays written by scholars.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of world history from 1450 to the present.

General Database Search Tips

Try these strategies to become a better, more efficient searcher -- and help you find articles that you can actually use:

Build your search vocabulary -- keep a running list of key words, phrases, concepts, synonyms, and any related terms or ideas that you find.
Use advanced search features -- narrow your search with "AND," expand your search with "OR," or search in specified fields (i.e., author, title, publication, abstract).
Use search limits -- control the types of results you get (academic journals? language?) and how they are displayed (date? relevance?) so that you're only looking at results you can use.
Try multiple searches and evaluate -- try to figure out why you got the results you did, and adjust your search until you get closer to results you can use.
Use database descriptors -- once you find an article that looks good, see what descriptors or "subject headings" were assigned to it in the database. You can use these to search only for articles that have the same descriptors attached.