Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Additional Subject Databases
Diversity Studies: OneFile This link opens in a new window
Access a range of periodical content to explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) This link opens in a new window
The Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from current biomedical journals.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of full text journals, including many peer-reviewed titles. Covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
Psychology: OneFile This link opens in a new window
Find authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology.
Psychology Database This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts, indexing and some full-text, for psychology journals. Many titles are also indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.
PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other mental health consequences of traumatic events.
SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
Offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
PsycINFO is a primary tool used by counselors to find information related to all aspects of their profession.
Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA) it identifies scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, and is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Ninety-nine percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed.
Interdisciplinary Databases (The Big Ones)
Social Science Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to multiple databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database containing full text journal, magazine & newspaper articles, many from peer-reviewed titles. This scholarly collection covers information in nearly every area of academic study.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Covering more than 160 subject areas, ProQuest Central is a large aggregated database of periodical content. It features a diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources including: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, patents, legal opinions and federal & state court opinions.
What's a secondary source?
In secondary sources, authors analyze and interpret primary source materials.
Secondary sources can be scholarly or popular. Scholarly sources (sometimes called "academic" or "peer-reviewed" sources) are written by and for experts and typically include bibliographies and citations. Popular sources are written for a general, non-expert audience and can be authored by anyone.
This guide highlights only a small portion of the many resources available to you. If you're not finding what you need, don't hesitate to contact Andrea!
Social Sciences Liaison Librarian
tel: (253) 879-2875
office: Collins Library 141
Request an Appointment with Andrea